fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Workable copies 18 May 2021 02:31 #114538

I'm new to this and I'm in crisis mode. I put together a video last year, the components of which I would like to utilize as something of a template for a new video. But each copy I make seems to be tied to the original. Every time I make a change to the new version, it does likewise to the initial copy. I can't allow that to happen.

How do I make a workable copy that remains independent of the original, one in which changes made will not be mirrored on last year's version?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Workable copies 18 May 2021 07:04 #114539

Welcome to the forum!

Instead of copying your project, create a snapshot (Shift-Command-D).

A snapshot is a fully independent copy of your project. Making changes to compound clips or multicam clips inside a snapshot will not affect the original project.

- Ronny

Workable copies 19 May 2021 00:02 #114551

Ronnie, thank you so much for your response. But it appears I am still experiencing difficulties. I did as instructed but, when I changed a date in the new snapshot version, that date changed across the board. I know you folks are the pros, so I suspect I am doing something wrong, but I can't figure out what.

Workable copies 19 May 2021 07:22 #114555

Sorry to hear you still have the issue. Let's go through this step by step to see where it goes wrong:

1. You have an older FCP project. You want to duplicate that project and make changes to the duplicate without the changes affecting the original project.

2. You have selected the older project icon in the FCP browser and you have created a snapshot of the project.