fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC:

crop aspect ratio changing 07 Jun 2021 17:51 #114886

I'm new to Final Cut Pro, so forgive me if this is basic--but I have looked extensively for an answer.

I'm working on a project that uses primarily one single video for all of the source media. The aspect ratios do not match. The project is wider than the source video. As I have been editing the project, when I have been using the crop tool, it defaults to the aspect ratio of the project, not the source material. That's good. When I zoom in, so to speak, to crop, I can maintain the aspect ratio of the project and fill the entire screen.

Suddenly, though, at a certain point, the default aspect ratio of the crop seems to have changed to the size and aspect of the source video, not the project, and now every new crop I make resets to the more square size of the source video. I cannot get this to revert. When I "reset" the crop, it resets to the media size. I feel like I must have hit something that made this change, but I cannot figure it out.

Any help is much appreciated!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

crop aspect ratio changing 07 Jun 2021 19:07 #114887

Usually when media is in a non-standard frame resolution, it's best to use the Custom setting to create a custom size that match your frame.

Attachments:

crop aspect ratio changing 07 Jun 2021 22:53 #114894

Thanks for the input. I know what you mean. However, I do want to keep the wide aspect ratio, especially since almost all of the final edits are zoomed in on the source media. But for some reason, I cannot get the default crop aspect ratio to stay consistent.