fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: multi cam basic question

multi cam basic question 01 Feb 2012 20:09 #3692

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 470
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 5
I never used multi cam in fcp7 so this is probably a lame question. I now have two clips synced as a multi cam clip and can see both clips in the viewer. Now what? I don't know how to cut between them. It's obviously early for a tutorial for a one-day old feature, but I'd love to know how to use this. How similar is this to multi cam in fcp7?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 01 Feb 2012 23:36 #3703

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4228
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 892
As far as switching angles is concerned, the multicam feature in FCP10 works about the same as the one one FCP7:

Drop your multicam clip in your project timeline
Play your multicam clip and in the Angle Viewer (where you see both angles of your multicam clip)just switch the angles by selecting them while playing the multicam clip. Everytime you select a different angle in the Angle Viewer this angle will be cut in your multicam clip on the timeline.

With the magnetic timeline it is vey easy to further refine your live cuts.

There is also a short explanation on the Apple site:

www.apple.com/finalcutpro/software-update.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 02 Feb 2012 01:31 #3706

  • funkpost
  • funkpost's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 1
I would recommend going into the key-command setup and assign the numric keypad for selecting camera angles.

Apple has written a new section in the online manual about using the new multicam feature by the way.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 02 Feb 2012 01:34 #3707

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 470
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 5
Thanks. I just discovered the section in the manual. I'll look through it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 02 Feb 2012 04:53 #3713

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10110
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1280
Actually the Default keyboard is already set up to switch and cut with numerical keys either across the top row, or numeric keypad.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 02 Feb 2012 14:16 #3747

  • funkpost
  • funkpost's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 1

BenB wrote: Actually the Default keyboard is already set up to switch and cut with numerical keys either across the top row, or numeric keypad.


Mine wasn't - but I have a custom set. I guess that if you define your own key-sets prior to version 10.0.3, you won't have them as default. But 10.0.3 onwards does have them - makes sense?

Cheers
Gunnar

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: multi cam basic question 02 Feb 2012 20:43 #3760

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10110
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1280
I have three custom keyboard layouts created. The "Default" does in fact update to include the numeric keyboard shortcuts with FCP X 10.0.3. 5 systems, all had custom layouts, all updated the default just fine.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1