fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Camera settings?

Camera settings? 02 Sep 2020 07:57 #109779

• CubVideographer
  • CubVideographer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I am new to shooting video, and am unsure which settings I should be shooting at on my iPhone 6S Plus with Filmic Pro.

I am trying to get a clip-on ND filter, but everything is on backorder due to the pandemic. :angry:

I have decided that i want to stick with 24FPS, and so I thought that meant I should shoot at a shutetr speed of 1/48 of a second, but I'm not really sure how to handle Shutter Speed and ISO.

Many years ago I was a serious amateur photographer, and I always shot completely manual, and I thought I felt comfortable with exposure settings, but not having the ability to adjust aperture, I'm not comfortable or sure how to adjust exposure just having shutter speed and ISO at my disposal...

I did a test interview at 4K this afternoon, but the background almost looks staticy like an old analog TV...

It looks like I shot earlier today at 1/48 sec and IO of 225.

Without an ND filter, I know sometimes I have to crank up ISO to like 1,000 or whatever to compensate for a sunny day, OR I have to crank up shutter speed which I was under the impression would break the "cinematic look".

It's strange that I saw static (?) in my video from earlier today, because this was shot inside with average lighting, so I thought the ISO of 225 wasn't maybe too high, although in terms of film that would be a high-speed film.

Could use some help here so that I get the best results and ones that both look "cinematic" and also simply "professional"!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Camera settings? 03 Sep 2020 16:32 #109822

• joema
  • Platinum Boarder