fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Collection of Bugs in M5.4

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 19 Jan 2018 12:52 #93502

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3672
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 506
It seems to be a simple re-draw issue in Motion, which probably will be fixed quickly in a bug fix update soon. It seems to happen more on older models, less on newer models of Macs. What the release notes are talking about is inconsistency and stability of the behavior's basic function, not the OSC. This was discussed in a thread in the Motion forum (where this thread should go). But yes, feedback form for everything.

//Mod here: sorry folks, trying to clean up, THIS is a reply to Tobis below posts! //

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Karsten Schlüter.

Bugs in Motion 5.4 19 Jan 2018 14:33 #93506

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
Seems that Motion 5.4 isn't as bug free as 5.3.2 list of bugs :

- Align function doesn't work as expected when moving objects


- Fonts show wired characters. Although correct displayed in font library


- Fonts show wired characters. Although correct displayed in font library


by the way using an iMac late 2015 so don't thing that the align issue is based on that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Schnurr.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 20 Jan 2018 07:02 #93532

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662
Moin Tobi,

actually installed your 'Champion' project as an Effect into FCPX:

yep, indeed: AlignTo elements don't sick to the OSC; but the very moment, I drag the mouse into the timeline the bars jump into place … annoying, but manageable. Needs a fix.

alas, what we discussed off board ad nauseam:
smart use of How To Group elements and/or a Link-Behav makes usage of AlignTo in many/most cases obsolete … imho ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 20 Jan 2018 16:43 #93539

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
HI Karsten,

yes that one is manageable but when the TC (see video above) is used too that element doesn't jump into the right x,y position.

Well link-behave seems not so easy to be used when you deal with variable text elements (not being a M5 expert) as such align was in the past much more handy.

Lets see whether and when Apple will fix that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 20 Jan 2018 23:13 #93541

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3672
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 506
I bet we see a bug fix update by Mardi Gras.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 21 Jan 2018 07:02 #93553

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

FCPX.guru wrote: I bet we see a bug fix update by Mardi Gras.


… can you translate into numbers, non-cajun people understand …?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 21 Jan 2018 15:31 #93573

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3672
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 506
Everyone in the world knows about Mardi Gras in New Orleans... Google even knows about it. And if you've never attended Mardi Gras in New Orleans (with a knowledgable native guide), you've not enjoyed life to the fullest, trust me on this one. I have a hand full of friends who came to Mardi Gras, and have never left the city since.

Fat Tuesday, day before Ash Wednesday, for 2018 it is February 13.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 21 Jan 2018 16:26 #93582

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

FCPX.guru wrote: Everyone in the world knows about Mardi Gras ….


… hmm, define 'world' … ;)

(for example World as in 'Baseball World Championships', which allows only teams from the USoA?)
SCNR …

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 02 Mar 2018 16:30 #94434

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
What is a bit strange that you can include eg. gifs, png in Motion5 and assign these pictures as a kind of value for Dropzones. In fcxp these pictures are then used but don't show up in the Dropzone in the "inspector" which is a bit annoying .

Created DZ with assigned "pre-picture":


Display in fcpx: Picture is used in the background as it should but I would expect that the picture would be shown as well in the drop zone as in Motion 5.
Bug or Feature??

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 03 Mar 2018 06:26 #94438

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

Schnurr wrote: …would expect that the picture would be shown as well in the drop zone as in Motion 5.
Bug or Feature??


You want the pic, dropped in Motion into the DZ appear in the DZ-well in FCPX?
in my understanding of DROPzones, your observation is a feature …



A Dropzone asks for action, "drop in here!" ;) Any 'pre-load' would, in my world, ask for some sort of drop-down-menu "choose from this list" …
An empty well tells me, I should/have to fill it …
plus, when the user nixes his content (uncheck x box), your preload appears back again … is THAT intended by you?



in my understanding of UI, there's a difference btw 'select from range' and 'add any free content' … but, feel free to make an Enhancement request … it would confuse me … LOL.

sidenote1: let me guess, 11 OSCs??? omg. (hint: drag Amount to zero, the circles are confusing) …

sidenote2: today, match #1 of 2nd half of season… <shiver> … :woohoo: )
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 03 Mar 2018 18:45 #94443

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
Hi Karsten,
Yes the picture should appear as well in DZ box in order that a user would see that there is a preloaded picture already that can be easily changed via x or just a new drag and drop. Wouldn’t confuse me at all. As such a drop down list wouldn’t work.

Well there will be even more OSC because want to mimik like

OSC amount is used for scaling therefore I set the value.

Yes is season is starting and funny to watch games from 2—3 years ago.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Collection of Bugs in M5.4 12 Mar 2018 09:23 #94592

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1