fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Include "link" behaviour in a rig ?

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 24 Feb 2018 10:49 #94308

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
Hi,

is there a way to combine a link behaviour to a rig element ?

I can publish a link parameter so that user can turn it on or off but would prefer to include that in a rig with other elements. Any suggestions how to do that ?
So basically I link color2 to color1 and would prefer to turn that on and off in a rig. Eg. when I want to show only one club color or the same on as well on the other side instead of a user requesting to select the color again (so in this case both should be red via link parameter)



Thanks
Tobias

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Schnurr.

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 24 Feb 2018 14:03 #94312

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3587
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 496
Karsten will have a better detailed explanation, but the idea is that anything that's a checkbox in Motion, probably can't be published. The enable/disable check boxes can't.

So, you make two versions (or however many you need) and put each in its own Group. Then make a rig with a pop-up menu, and set each menu option based on Opacity. Say you have two Groups; Red and Blue. The Red menu option brings the Red group opacity to 100 and the Blue group opacity to 0. The Blue menu option will do the opposite.

In a nutshell...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 24 Feb 2018 14:20 #94313

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
Thanks Guru,

okay will then just create two groups and work with opacity and include that in rigs.

Well checkboxes CAN be published but you can't assign them to rigs (at least my experience) which is a bit strange, at least for me. Will raise a feedback report to Apple.

Anyhow thanks for your feedback and problem solved.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 25 Feb 2018 03:13 #94316

  • alex4D
  • alex4D's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: 36
  • Thank you received: 249
You can turn the behaviour on and off by rigging its Custom Mix to your widget. 0 = means original colour, 1 = same as colour linked to.

@Alex4D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 25 Feb 2018 04:48 #94319

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3689
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 661
… no need for two groups, follow Alex' advice, made a quick demo file of his suggestion …
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Include "link" behaviour in a rig ? 02 Mar 2018 16:25 #94433

  • Schnurr
  • Schnurr's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 15
Thank you very much for your support. Works great without a need for duplication.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1