fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Linking different source dimensions give different values ...

Linking different source dimensions give different values ... 12 Nov 2020 16:20 #110803

  • MatzeHali
  • MatzeHali's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi there,

I'm trying to do some serious linking for a motion template, and have the following problem:

When linking a A.position.Y value to a different B.position.Y-value with Link and then Replace with Source, that works as expeced and B.position.Y will show exactly the same as A.position.Y.
If I, however, link A.position.X to B.position.Y the value is not identical.
While I can somehow work around this, it's a lot more dummy objects with values in it to store and adjust, so I'd love to know, how to apply "correct math" in Motion links.

Thanks,

M

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Linking different source dimensions give different values ... 13 Nov 2020 01:53 #110808

  • peteramwiggins
  • peteramwiggins's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • The Administrator :)
  • Posts: 706
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 378
You can add the custom behaviour to offset or multiply another parameter
Administrator

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Linking different source dimensions give different values ... 13 Nov 2020 01:59 #110809

  • MatzeHali
  • MatzeHali's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 0

peteramwiggins wrote: You can add the custom behaviour to offset or multiply another parameter


Well, I'm doing that, ain't I?
I go to for example a Y position of a group, right click and then choose link from the custom behaviour menu. Now I have a link behaviour and drag and drop a different element into the source of the link, and now I can choose which value I want from it. If it is also a Y value, everything works great, if it's an X-value, the Y value of the group I'm replacing will not be the X-value of the other element, but some seemingly random number. 🤷🏻‍♂️
Or what are you talking about?

Cheers,

M

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Linking different source dimensions give different values ... 20 Nov 2020 19:05 #110955

  • sc_fox
  • sc_fox's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 13
The underpinnings of Motion are that all dimensional coordinates are in 0 - 1 format. For your convenience, Motion converts those values to pixel values based on the project settings. So, for a 1920x1080 project, the raw value X is multiplied by 1920 and the Y value is multiplied by 1080. Technically, your linked X/Y parameters ARE equal, but translated. [X 0 is the left edge; Y 0 is the bottom edge].

To deal with the parameter values in Transform Position, you would Scale the link > Position>Y value by 1.7777777[8] to be able to see pixel equivalents. Going the other way, try 1080/1920 or about 0.5625 to convert in the other direction.

You will run into these disparities a lot using other parameter values when the they are not "like" valued - for example - linking a Numbers Value to the position parameters will display values 100 times the actual 0-1 range (or consider it percent, if you will).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1