fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Compressor LONG exports

Compressor LONG exports 24 May 2019 15:20 #100016

  • robertdee
  • robertdee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 10
I've been having big problems with compressor. If I export a batch it will export the first one or two videos at a normal speed. If I send a batch it hangs on one job for ages and I have to restart. Tried deleting preferences, restarting mac, reinstalling compressor (with FCPX remover) and using Compressor Repair. Still the same issue. Anyone else experiencing this and found a fix?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compressor LONG exports 03 Jun 2019 00:39 #100086

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3448
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 474
What is your source, what preset are you using to encode to, what Mac specs are you running?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compressor LONG exports 06 Jun 2019 08:17 #100123

  • robertdee
  • robertdee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 10
Source: ProRes HQ or ProRes
Encoding to: MP4 H264 10,000 kbps Multipass - it's a standard I've used for years and not had problems with till recently.

Specs: iMac Retina 5K 2017, 64GB Ram, Radeon Pro 580 8 GB

Latest OS and FCPX

The point is that sometimes it's very fast (less than 30 seconds) and subsequently hangs seemingly at the end of the encode for upwards of 15 mins. Usually on batches.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compressor LONG exports 06 Jun 2019 11:16 #100127

  • robertdee
  • robertdee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 10
Ok, it's a little clearer now. It seems what happens is that once a video is finished, Compressor still hangs on the job as 'processing' even when the file has been exported - which explains the batch problem. Not sure why that's happening.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compressor LONG exports 19 May 2020 00:17 #107298

  • Domscillator
  • Domscillator's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 0
I get this here too. Did you figure out what was causing it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compressor LONG exports 21 May 2020 10:52 #107362

  • Stu Wart
  • Stu Wart's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
if you " Enable additional Compressor instances" in Preferences/Advanced

it will process separatly chunks of you exported file, you know that ? then it will take some time to assemble those parts in one file. That's "the hanging" ...

Maybe in case of a batch some confusion slowers the process ? (it shouldn't)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1